A splash of colour in January

My husband has recently bought a fish tank. In it, we have 8 small brightly coloured tetras and a Japanese fighting fish that dart around and then without warning slow down or rest on a log. I sometimes feel like one of them, pedalling to get everything achieved and then sitting on the sofa to relax!

They are a welcome pop of colour in the tank and provide a nice distraction after a day sat in front of a computer. I also find that I need some colour to break up the horizon or the monotony that sometimes sets in from pounding the pavements. 

Inspired to get off my bum and go for a run, today was my long run day and I wanted to test a new route. It was raining and all together miserable for a 1 and a half hour jog. I kept stopping to check my route which meant that I paid more attention that usual to the countryside around me. Running through fields and along muddy footpaths I found my way into a birch forest. Forest sounds a bit grand, let’s call it a wood. In the wood the leaves had made a carpet underfoot hiding the tree roots and providing a soft landing. I was concentrating on foot placement and didn’t realise where I was until I stumbled across a road which Iwasn’t  expecting – I was lost. 

What does this have to do with a splash of colour? Well, it turned out I had ended up at a golf course where, despite the cloudy relentless grey sky above me, I saw manicured lawns vibrant and green and umbrellas of every shade moving around the course. This was a nice break from the mud that caked my trainers and had been underfoot for most of the run. The colour didn’t last long as I had to make my way out of the golf course but it gave me a boost. 

At home I have some colourful touches, a vase of flowers, a yellow sofa, vibrant elephant ornaments. January can often be so grey with dark evenings and it always cheers me up to see a bit of colour. 

I have one more run in January and then onwards to February running and here’s hoping for some bright sunny days. 

Leave a Reply

