Balancing act 


Running a marathon takes some planning. There are the running sessions to fit in, 4 a week in my case as well as strength training and general life!

I’m not gonna lie, I’ve had to work hard to create my plan and get into my routine and I’m having to be really disciplined. Even on days where it’s been -3 outside, I’ve had to pull on my running gear and get out the door.

How do people stick to their goals? Why do so many New Years resolutions fall by the wayside?

I read somewhere that it takes 6 weeks to get into a habit. I’m currently on week 4 and to make myself stick to my training plan I have made a chart showing each session. I can move these sessions around if necessary but I’ve tried to accommodate weekend plans and other drop in activities. I don’t know about you, but I like to have a reward. If I complete all my sessions in a week I am rewarding myself with a trip to the cinema or a takeaway for dinner or seeing friends! I also seem to be rewarding myself with biscuits at work whenever I can – so I should probably try and break that habit.

This week has been particularly difficult to balance running, the gym and having a life. I’ve been doing long hours in the office but I did get out for a run after my gym session last night. It was the last thing I wanted to do but I forced myself and ran for an hour in the freezing cold. It’s days like this that make me really motivated to get out there are smash it because I want to improve my fitness and more importantly because I want to raise as much money as I can for Alzheimer’s Research UK so that they can invest in finding treatments.

No one said running a marathon is easy (me included) but with a lot of planning and determination, I will get there!

Donate now

 

Dark frosty evening run

 

 

Head torch running

 

Leave a Reply

