Just keep running

I’m mid way through week 3 of my training plan this week. I have stuck to my schedule which is a 16 week plan to get me race ready. It involves running 4 times a week and strength training 2-3 times a week. I’ve never been so disciplined!

Even though I have run a marathon before, my fitness level has dropped massively since then due to not walking as much as part of my daily commute and not exercising as much (and eating crap). It’s amazing how quickly your fitness level drops, but today I have seen a real improvement and am feeling much better about being race ready.

So, I was meant to go for a 50 min tempo run which involved running 40 minutes at marathon pace with a 5 min warm up and cool down either side. I think I went a little faster than my actual marathon pace (my average pace in 2015 was 12 min 20 per mile on race day). Below is the snapshot of my run from Strava. If I can maintain that speed, it would be amazing, but I know that I can’t – so I will take all the benefit this run has given me and the boost and use it in my strength training tomorrow.

18-01-17

I also saw the picture below which is very apt – my life revolves around training, sleeping, eating and washing! Housework is suffering, but it’s all for a good cause. I can hear the washing machine whirring as I type.

16003264_1255861881135341_4188185908521563304_n.png

Wish me luck for the rest of this week. It’s a busy one with a full day at work on Saturday so I’m hoping that I am still motivated come Sunday for my long run (80 mins).

Leave a Reply

